Hughes County


Hughes county is located in southeastern Oklahoma, and is bordered by Okfuskee county on the north, McIntosh county on the northeast,
Pittsburg county on the southeast, Pontotoc county on the southwest and Seminole county on the northwest.

At the turn of the 21st century incorporated towns included:
Atwood, Calvin, Dustin, Gerty, Lamar, Spaulding, Stuart, Wetumpka, Yeager and the county seat, Holdenville.

Hughes County was carved out of lands belonging to the Creek and Choctaw Nations.
It was originally founded in 1895 and named Fentress. The town site was named for J. H. Holden, general manager of the Choctaw, Oklahoma and Gulf Railroad.
Organized at statehood in 1907, the county was named for William C. Hughes, Oklahoma City lawyer and member of the constitutional convention.


American War Dads Book Indexes Cemeteries Calvin Census  Civil War  Burials Funeral Home Records Marriage Records
Newspapers Obituaries  Resources Schools Surnames News-Bits Towns 


OKGenWeb Research Sources

OKGenWeb Maps N More
OKGenWeb Resource Page
OK Family Reunions
OKGenWeb Success Stories

No Man's Land - Oklahoma Territory
Native American Research Project
The Unassigned Lands of Oklahoma Territory

Linda Simpson
County Coordinator

2000 - Present
All Rights Reserved

Updated 8/18/2014

 Vinyl Mastering
Vinyl Mastering